The penalties for speeding vary from state to state, usually based on how fast you were going at the time you were stopped. If you are ticketed for speeding in your home state, you know what to expect.
Unfortunately, if you are from out of state, this can cause some nasty surprises for you when you get home. This is because your home state will reciprocate the penalty based on its own laws, and not those of the state in which the ticket was issued.
Home State Rules Apply for Speeding
For example, in New Jersey, the penalties are as follows:
- 1-14 mph over the limit: 2 points
- 15-29 mph over the limit: 4 points
- 30+ mph over the limit: 5 points
In Florida, however, according to their DMV web site, the scale is different:
- 1-15 mph over the limit: 3 points
- 16+ mph over the limit: 4 points
- Speeding that results in an accident: 6 points
Another trap for the unwary is that pleading to New Jersey’s “no point ticket,” called Unsafe Operation, is a bad idea for Florida drivers because it is a moving violation, and all moving violations in Florida are assessed at least 3 points (4 points if it is reciprocated as reckless driving).
Many people, often referred to as "snowbirds," maintain a Florida residence (and driver's license) but spend time in New Jersey as well, driving on its roads, and end up with a ticket.
So What Do I Do?
If you have a Florida license, but have been ticketed for speeding in South Jersey, call my office at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to discuss your options. In virtually all cases I am able to represent you without you coming back to New Jersey to appear in court. You should also consult with a Florida lawyer for a solid opinion on how "Unsafe Operation" could affect your license.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: