Because of the nature of the vehicles being operated by a person with a CDL, certain charges are more serious in New Jersey than if it had been received while driving a non-commercial vehicle. This is true of the consequences of driving a commercial vehicle while your CDL has been suspended.
What is the Risk to Your CDL?
For the first offense, you would face:
- Suspension of your CDL for one to three years for a first offense, with a mandatory three years if you were transporting hazardous materials at the time or the vehicle was placarded for same.
- Fines of up to $5,000
- Court costs of $33 and a surcharge of $6
- A jail term of up to 90 days in addition to, or instead of, the fines.
- If your driving resulted in personal injury, the fine is $5,000, costs, and 90 days in jail.
- If you were driving while your basic driving privileges were suspended, you would face the penalties for that as well.
For a second offense, everything is the same, except your CDL would be suspended for life. The only good news is you would be able to reapply for one after 10 years.
So What Do I Do If I Get a Driving While Suspended Ticket?
If you have a CDL and are pulled over in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, New Jersey for driving while suspended, realize that you need a lawyer, and are ready to take action, then call me immediately at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation. If you are out of state or out of the area, this can be done by phone or video conference.
If you are just looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: