This sometimes happens to drivers, and may have happened to you: you misjudge the yellow light. You either think you have time to get through the intersection, or don't think you can stop in time, and safely, and you go through. But the light turned red before you did it.
Then you either get pulled over by a patrol officer that saw you do it or get a ticket in the mail because of the red light camera. You're next thought is . . .
What Are the Penalties for Running a Red Light?
This has become a common question, especially with the use of red-light cameras at dozens of intersections across New Jersey. If you run the red light, there will be a photo of you doing it.
Like most moving violations, it carries a fine of $50 to $200, up to 15 days in jail (seldom imposed absent an accident or other aggravating circumstances), and two points. The fine can be doubled if the violation took place in a construction zone or a "Safe Corridor."
Can the Penalties Be Lowered?
Naturally, it is this last one that is often a cause for concern, but for New Jersey licensed drivers, there is the option of pleading to the "no-point ticket" for Unsafe Operation.
If you are from out of state, on the other hand, this might not be the best strategy as many other states assign points to ANY moving violation.
So What Do I Do?
If you have received a ticket for running a red light in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, New Jersey, want to hire a lawyer to represent you, and are ready to take action, then call my office right away at 856-432-1673 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation to discuss your options.
If you are from out of state and cannot appear in court, we can discuss my appearing in court on your behalf.
Want to know more about NJ traffic laws? Download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: