Driving in New Jersey while your license (or NJ driving privileges, if you are licensed in another state) is suspended carries some serious consequences. However, if you are driving while under an active suspension for drunk driving, the penalties become "enhanced" and are assessed on top of those normally meted out for the offense.
The basic penalties are as follows:
- First Offense: $500 fine
- Second Offense: $750 fine and 0-5 days in jail
- Third or Subsequent Offense: $1,000 fine and 10 days in jail!
Each offense also carries a potential additional license suspension of up to 180 days and a $250/year surcharge for three years.
Penalties Are Enhanced
But if you are under an active suspension for a first offense DUI, and this is your first offense for driving while suspended, they add:
- 10 - 90 days in jail
- A fine of $500
- 1-2 year suspension of your driver’s license (tacked on to the end of your current DWI suspension)
However, if you are convicted a second time for driving while suspended on that first offense DUI suspension, or on a suspension for a second or subsequent DUI, it is also considered a fourth degree crime (New Jersey's version of a felony)! Obviously, flouting your DWI license suspension is a really bad idea!
Should you be convicted for DWI, it is best not to drive until your license is restored.
So What Do I Do?
If you have received a ticket for driving while suspended while driving through southern New Jersey, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule a consultation in my Woodbury office to discuss your options and possible defenses.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: