In New Jersey, if you are involved in an accident, whether or not it is your fault, you have a duty to report the accident to the police if it appears that the damage to one or more of the vehicles might exceed $500. In other words, if you're in a minor accident where the vehicles bumped and there was no real damage, you don't have to report it. If you fail to do so, you could face a traffic ticket.
Penalties for Failure to Report
The penalties for this ticket, though, aren't nearly as severe as Leaving the Scene of an Accident. But if you have been charged with this, though, you will face:
- A fine of $30-100
- 0-15 days in jail
- Possible administrative suspension of your license by DMV
If you were in an accident and did not report it, you may well also be charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident, which is far more serious. and is not something you should face alone.
I Can Be There With You!
If you have received a ticket for Failure to Report an Accident in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation. If you are out of state or out of the area, this can be done by phone.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: