In New Jersey, if you are involved in an accident, whether or not it is your fault, you have a duty to remain at the scene to exchange contact and insurance information, as well as check to make sure that all the vehicles involved are driveable, and that no one is injured. just drive off.
Accidents Without Injury
The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident are quite serious, so if you have been charged with this, you need to talk to a lawyer right away. Just for leaving the scene, assuming no one is hurt, you will face:
- A fine of $200 to $400
- 6 month loss of license
- 2 points on your driving record, and
- 30 days in jail!!
Accidents With Injury
So leaving the scene of even a a fender bender has serious consequences! But what if someone was hurt in the accident and you left? In that case the consequences are far more severe! You will face:
- A fine of $500 to $1,000
- 1 year loss of license
- 8 points on your driving record, and
- 180 days in jail!!
This is not something you should face alone.
I Can Be There With You!
If you have received a ticket for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation. If you are out of state or out of the area, this can be done by phone.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: