Have you been ticketed in New Jersey for driving on a suspended license? Is it currently suspended due to a DUI (drunk driving) conviction? If you have, then you could be in serious trouble! The penalties for driving on a suspended license are enhanced where there is an active DUI suspension.
How Are the Penalties Worse?
These enhancements get much worse with repeat convictions on a first offense DUI suspension, or ANY conviction on a suspension for a second or subsequent DUI conviction. Here is what you face:
- From 180 days in county jail to 18 months in state prison! This incarceration is in addition to the fines and additional license suspension which you would incur as a result of the conviction for the related traffic offense.
- A fine of up to $10,000
- 1-2 year suspension of your driver’s license (tacked on to the end of your current DWI suspension)
In effect, this offense is considered a fourth degree crime (the lowest tier of what New Jersey considers felonies). Traffic court judges and prosecutors review these cases to determine if a fourth degree charge would apply.
However, if it does, you do have a right to a jury trial on the charge. But the important thing to bear in mind is that you face a possible felony conviction just for driving on that suspended license!
So What Do I Do?
If you have been ticketed in Southern New Jersey for driving while suspended, especially if you are under an active suspension for DUI, please call my office immediately at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment to discuss your case. The consequences are just too great not to!
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: