In New Jersey, if a person is either under 21 years old or has never had a driver license, he or she is required to complete a period of supervised driving before getting a basic driver license. This Graduated Driver License (GDL) program introduces driving privileges in phases.
These GDLs have certain restrictions that must be observed, depending on the step in the learning process and type of license held.The first step in the learning process is the issuance of the Student Learner's Permit, most often issued to young drivers at age 16.
There are several restrictions on these permits, and those that hold them would do well to know what they are and observe them. As of May 10, 2010, they are:
- Display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back)
- No driving after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
- You must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years driving experience.
- Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependant(s) are allowed as passengers. A dependant is a permit or probationary driver's child, not siblings.
- Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
- You can't use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device.
- Seat belts must be worn at all times
What if you get a ticket?
Anyone holding a probationary license must be very careful, as traffic violations can have increased consequences, not the least of which is the inability to eliminate points by pleading to "Unsafe Operation."
If you have received a ticket in Camden, Gloucester, or Salem County while holding a GDL, call my office at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to discuss your options. You don't want to end up losing the license you just got!
Want to Avoid Getting One?
If you hold a GDL, or are the parent of someone who does, and would like further information on New Jersey's traffic laws in order to avoid getting a ticket that carries points, download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in New Jersey and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: