The penalties for speeding vary from state to state, usually based on how fast you were going at the time you were stopped. If you are ticketed for speeding in your home state, you know what to expect. Unfortunately, if you are from out of state, this can cause some nasty surprises for you when you get home.
This is because your home state will reciprocate the penalty based on its own laws, and not those of the state in which the ticket was issued. For example, in New Jersey, the penalties are as follows:
- 1-14 mph over the limit: 2 points
- 15-29 mph over the limit: 4 points
- 30+ mph over the limit: 5 points
Delaware, according to their DMV web site, has a different point scale:
- 1-9 MPH over posted limit 2 points
- 10 - 14 MPH over posted limit 4 points
- 15 - 19 MPH over posted limit 5 points
- 20+ MPH over posted limit 5 points (May result in additional actions including suspension)
As you can see, a two point ticket in New Jersey could be a 4 pointer in Delaware! Another trap for the unwary is that pleading to New Jersey’s “no point ticket,” called Unsafe Operation, is a bad idea for Delaware drivers because it is reciprocated as a moving violation with 2 points.
So What Do I Do?
If you are a Delaware driver that has received a speeding ticket in southern New Jersey you should call my office at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to see what strategy works best for you.
Most matters can even be resolved without you appearing, so you can save the expense of traveling to New Jersey. You owe it to yourself to look into it.
If you would like more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
You should also consult with a Delaware attorney to get a solid opinion on how "Unsafe Operation" could affect your license.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: