Reckless driving in New Jersey is a serious offense, especially if it involves an accident with property damage, or worse, personal injury. The penalties are heavy (although not as bad as DWI), and should not be taken lightly.
Penalties Depend on Number of Offenses
If you have been charged with this offense, and it is your first, you face a fine of $50 to $200, up to 60 days in jail, up to 90 days suspension of your driver's license, $33 court costs, and 5 points.
If it is a second or subsequent offense, it is a fine of $100 to $500, up to three months in jail, up to 90 days suspension of your driver's license, $33 court costs, and 5 points!
But the State Still Has to Prove Its Case
However, the state must still prove its case against you. In order to do so, they must show that you drove
"heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property."
This is not always easy to prove, and is often charged in conjunction with other offenses, such as DWI, speeding, unsafe lane change, or the like. Sometimes overzealous police officers will write you up for reckless driving when you were, at worst, careless.
If you have received a ticket for this offense you need to act to protect your rights. Get a lawyer. You do not want to risk that many points on your driving record and the possible suspension of your license.
I Can Help!
If you have received a reckless driving ticket in southern New Jersey, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation in my Woodbury office. If you are out of state or out of the area, this can be done by phone
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: