Even though the sentencing guidelines were changed on December 1, 2019, and the consequences of a first offense DUI in New Jersey are not as severe, you can still lose your license! It all depends on what your blood alcohol reading was when you gave those breath samples.
You Can Keep Your License If You Were Tipsy
There is a cutoff on the reading for first offenses when it comes to license suspension. With a reading between 0.08% and 0.099%, you face the following:
- A fine of between $250 and $400
- Incarceration ranging between 12 hours and 30 days (rare)
- Use of an Interlock Device for 3 months
- Approximately $700 in other fees, charges and costs
Should your reading be 0.10% to 0.14%, however, you face:
- A fine of between $300 and $500
- Incarceration ranging between 12 hours and 30 days (again, rare)
- Use of an Interlock Device for 7-12 months
- $364 in other fees, charges and costs
A BAC of 0.15% or Higher Means Trouble
If your BAC is 0.15% or higher, then your license will be suspended for 4-6 months (starting on the date you prove that the IID has been installed in your car), and then the device must remain in your car for another 9 to 15 months after license restoration.
This means that, unless you can take public transportation or have someone else drive you, chances are you will lose your job. Even at the minimum, few if any employers are going to do without you for that period of time; they will fire you and get someone else to replace you!
A DUI Conviction Can Still Devastate Your Life!
Even without a license suspension, a drunk driving conviction can have additional devastating effects on your life, including:
- Hundreds of dollars in costs for the IID
- $3,000 in insurance surcharges
- a significant increase in your car insurance premiums
- Other consequential damages and costs
So Don't Give Up the Fight!
Most people think that there is nothing they can do about their DUI charge; they just give up and plead guilty. Don't surrender; you may have defenses! If you want to know what they are, click here! Then scroll down and see what to do next!
What Should I Do?
Considering what you face, if you have been charged with drunk driving, you need to consult with a lawyer. If you received the ticket in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, want to do everything you can to avoid conviction, and are ready to act, then call me immediately at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment in my Woodbury office to discuss your options.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's drunk driving law, then download my free book, How Much Trouble Am I In? A Guide to New Jersey Drunk Driving Law.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: