Think your New Jersey commercial driver's license (CDL) isn't in jeopardy because you got a ticket while driving your private vehicle? Think again! If the offense committed is serious enough, there could be administrative penalties levied against your CDL, including suspension and permanent loss!
In order to comply with the federal Motor Carrier Improvement Act, New Jersey imposes administrative punishment on CDL holders who repeatedly commit "serious offenses" while operating a non-commercial vehicle. Those "serious offenses" include:
- Speeding. Going 15+mph over the posted limit.
- Reckless Driving.
- Improper or Erratic Traffic Lane Changes.
- Any Traffic Violation Resulting in a Fatal Accident.
if you commit two of any of these offenses within a three (3) year period, your CDL can be suspended for 60 days. For three or more of any of these offenses within the same three (3) year period, your CDL can be suspended for 120 days.
It gets much worse if it is a DUI, Refusal to Submit to a Breathalyzer, Leaving the Scene of an Accident, or Using a Vehicle in Commission of a Felony:
- First Offense. Your CDL can be suspended for a year even though your private license might be suspended for less. In addition, for DUI, the BAC reading from the Breathalyzer only has to be 0.04% or higher!
- Second Offense. Permanent loss of your CDL!
There is no question that holders of commercial driver's licenses are held to a higher standard, even when not driving a commercial vehicle. If you have received a ticket in South Jersey and you have a commercial driver's license, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule a free consultation.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: