Here in New Jersey there are so many things that motorists can do to allow the police to pull them over. Once they have you on the side of the road, they may discover other things that might lead to additional tickets, like Driving While Suspended and Driving Without Insurance. You can even make things worse with your own behavior!
But now there is another one, and it is triggered when someone else is pulled over (or in trouble)!
Beware the NJ "Move Over" Law
New Jersey is one of 48 states that has adopted a "Move Over" law. This law protects police and other emergency services vehicles on the shoulder of the road either rendering aid or enforcing the traffic laws. On the books in other states for many years, it wasn't until 2009 that New Jersey got with the program.
However, it is also a law that most New Jerseyans know nothing about, and can come with some stiff consequences. Basically, if you are driving and approaching a "stationary authorized emergency vehicle" or "stationary tow truck" you must:
- Make a lane change into a lane not adjacent to the vehicle, if possible in the existing safety and traffic conditions; or
- If such a lane change would be impossible, prohibited by law or unsafe, you must reduce your speed to one that is "reasonable and proper . . for the existing road and traffic conditions," which speed shall be less than the posted speed limit, and be prepared to stop.
What You Face If You Don't "Move Over"
If you fail to do so, you face a fine of $100 to $500 plus court costs. The New Jersey Attorney General's Office offers this informative information about the law. Be aware on our highways and help keep safe those who are keeping us safe!
Do I Need a Lawyer for This?
If this is the only ticket you receive, probably not. You could go to court yourself and just try to get a minimum fine. But if you get other tickets after the have you on the side of the road, then that situation can change depending on the seriousness of the violations.
If you have received a ticket in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation in my Woodbury office. If you are out of state or out of the area, this can be done by phone.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: