Not only does New Jersey have some of the highest car insurance rates in the nation, they're really serious about punishing you if you do not have it! If you do not have at least the minimum liability coverage for your car, you will get into serious trouble if you are stopped.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance?
Like many other traffic laws on New Jersey's books, the penalties get worse the more times you are caught. The first time they get you, you can be nailed for:
- Fines of $300 to $1,000
- Community Service
- One year suspension of your driver's license (although you can avoid that if you can prove to the judge that this would create a hardship for you and your family)
As for the second time, I have this to say: Don't let there be a second time! This is because not only are the penalties much more severe, you will go to jail! You are looking at:
- Fine of $5,000
- 14 days in jail
- Two year suspension of your driver's license
Want Cheaper Auto Insurance? Nope!
But that's not all! You will also get an annual $250 surcharge for three years. In addition, and worse, nine (9) insurance eligibility points will be assessed against you by your insurance carrier. This will make you ineligible to purchase car insurance on the volunteer market, and be stuck with the assigned risk program (once your driver's license has been restored).
It Doesn't Matter If You Weren't the One Driving!
Even if you weren't the one driving the car, if you allowed someone else to drive it, you are subject to the same penalties. Plus, if the person you let drive it knows it has no insurance (or had reason to know), they can be punished as well!
Don't even think that it's worth taking chances, hoping that if you drive really well and don't give the police a reason to pull you over for something that you're safe; you are not! The police are allowed to scan license plates randomly, and if they do that to you, the lack of insurance will come up, and they will pull you over!
You Need a Lawyer for This One!
As you can see, this violation comes with some severe penalties, so you don't want to "go it alone." You need an experienced traffic attorney in your corner to protect your interests.If you have received a ticket in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, call me right away at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule an appointment for a free consultation in my Woodbury office. If you are out of state or out of the area, this can be done by phone.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's traffic laws, then download my free book, A Guide to Driving Legally in NJ, and Surviving Traffic Court If You Don't.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: