The penalties for speeding vary from state to state, usually based on how fast you were going at the time you were stopped. If you are ticketed for speeding in Virginia, you know what to expect.
Unfortunately, if you are from out of state, this can cause some nasty surprises for you when you get home. This is because Virginia will reciprocate the penalty based on its own laws, and not those of the state in which the ticket was issued.
Home State Rules Apply for Speeding
For example, in New Jersey, the penalties are as follows:
- 1-14 mph over the limit: 2 points
- 15-29 mph over the limit: 4 points
- 30+ mph over the limit: 5 points
But Virginia has a different point scale:
- 1-9 mph over the limit: 3 points
- 10-19 mph over the limit: 4 points
- 20+ mph over the limit: 6 points
Thus a 2 point New Jersey ticket can easily be 4 points in Virginia, while 4 New Jersey points can also become 6 when you get home. In addition, Virginia maintains point (or demerit) assessments for speeding up to 19 mph over the limit for 5 years; if you were going 20 or more over, it is 11 years!
There are other penalties for speeding in Virginia that apply if you are speeding there that are not imposed on reciprocation, but these alone are enough of a reason for a Virginia driver to be wary of a New Jersey speeding ticket.
So What Do I Do?
If you are a VA driver that has received a ticket in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, New Jersey, have decided you need a lawyer to represent you, and are ready to take action, call my office right away at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site for a free consultation regarding your ticket to see what strategy works best for you.
Most matters can even be resolved without you appearing, so you can save the expense of traveling to New Jersey. You owe it to yourself to look into it.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: