Unlike other states, New Jersey does not assign points to every moving violation. Although you can get anywhere from 2 to 5 points for all sorts of offenses, that is not true of drunk driving. There are no points.
For a New Jersey DUI, No Points is the Good News!
Anyone charged with drunk driving here in the Garden State would rather have 5 points against their license than the punishments that come with a DUI. This is because they are facing:
- Having an Ignition Interlock Device on their car for anywhere from 3 months to 4 years (at a cost of $100 per month)
- License suspension of anywhere from 4 months to 8 years
- Incarceration (Jail Time) from 2 to 180 days
- Insurance surcharges of $3,000 to $4,500
- Higher Insurance Premiums
- Possible job loss due to license suspension or jail
There are also other costs associated with a DUI conviction that need to be considered.
So What Do I Do? Do I Need a Lawyer?
The bad news of a drunk driving conviction way outweighs the good news of no points against your license. You need to have an experienced DUI lawyer by your side to minimize the consequences (and possibly get the charges dismissed).
If you have been charged with drunk driving in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, please feel free to call me at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule a free consultation.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's drunk driving law, then download my free book, How Much Trouble Am I In? A Guide to New Jersey Drunk Driving Law.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others: