If you were arrested and charged with drunk driving in New Jersey, you might be concerned that the court date, and mandatory appearance, are so soon. It is not unusual for that date to be less than a week after the stop. This may have you nervous and worried that you won't have time to deal with this properly, that you might not have time to get a lawyer. Fortunately, that is not true.
You Still Have Time to Get a Lawyer For Your DUI
The court date on your ticket is not for a trial; it is for something called a "rights hearing." All those people charged with DWI in the days leading up to the hearing are brought in and read their rights on drunk driving. This is because NJ courts are mandated to resolve, as best they can, DUI matters within 60 days of the incident, the ball gets rolling right away.
At this hearing, you will be told all of the penalties that you are facing for first, second, or third/subsequent violations, along with your right to a lawyer. This is usually done en masse for everyone, who are then excused from court for the day. A notice of trial date is then mailed to them.
So Should You Get a Lawyer?
Yes! The consequences of this charge are just too great NOT to hire a lawyer! This isn't just a speeding ticket!
There may be defenses to your case that an attorney could raise that could allow you to:
- Avoid a license suspension and keep your job
- Provide for yourself and your family
- Keep your car insurance premiums affordable; and
- Avoid a crushing debt that you can't get rid of
If you don't hire one soon, that 60 days can run out faster than you may think.
Don't Give Up the Fight! DUIs Can Have Defenses!
Most people think that there is nothing they can do about their DUI charge; they just give up and plead guilty. Don't surrender; you may have defenses! If you want to know what they are, click here! Then scroll down and see what to do next!
Let Me Help You Fight Your DUI!
Considering what you face, if you have been charged with drunk driving, you need to consult with a lawyer. If you were charged in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem or Cumberland County, want to do everything you can to avoid conviction, and are ready to act, then call me immediately at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site to schedule a free consultation in my Woodbury office. The consequences are just too great not to.
If you are looking for more information on New Jersey's drunk driving law, then download my free book, How Much Trouble Am I In? A Guide to New Jersey Drunk Driving Law.
If you liked this information and found it useful, then you might like or need these others:
- To Arrest You for Drunk Driving in NJ, They Have to Have Probable Cause
- Top Three Questions to Ask When Choosing a Lawyer for Your NJ DUI - DWI Case
- Do I have the right to refuse to take the breathalyzer test in a New Jersey DUI/DWI?