Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: (856) 686-9910
Richardson Law Offices
Phone:

Have You Received a Ticket for Drunk Driving (DUI) in New Jersey? Are You Worried About Losing Your License or Going to Jail?

Of all traffic court issues in New Jersey, an arrest for DWI (also known as DUI or drunk driving) can have the greatest personal, professional and financial impact on your life. If you or a family member was stopped for DWI, you need an experienced and aggressive defense lawyer on your side. Contact me for help today.

There are some important things you should know about DWI law in New Jersey:

  • You do not have a right to refuse a Breathalyzer test; refusal can result in serious penalties
  • The police must continuously observe you for 20 minutes before administering the Breathalyzer
  • Weaving, crossing the fog line or lane separator can be enough probable cause for the police to pull you over on suspicion of DWI

Even a first offense DWI will cost you a minimum of $250 in fines, approximately $700 in other charges and fees and $1,000 in DMV surcharges a year for three years. The total cost of conviction: $3,950. And that does not factor in the cost of potential license suspension, rising insurance rates, or the affect on your personal and professional life, especially if you rely on a clean driving record to maintain a commercial driver's license (CDL) in order to do your job.

At the Law Offices of Steven J. Richardson in Woodbury, you will find an attorney with more than 20 years of legal experience who can help you fight the serious consequences of a DWI arrest and conviction. There are no plea bargains in DWI cases. You have to fight the charge or plead guilty. I will fight for you. Contact my office today to schedule a confidential consultation.

First Offense DWI Penalties
A. Blood alcohol content between .08 percent and .099 percent:
A fine of between $250 and $400
Incarceration ranging between 12 hours and 30 days
Three month driver's license suspension
Approximately $700 in other fees, charges and costs
B. Blood alcohol content of .10 percent or above:
A fine of between $300 and $500
Incarceration ranging between 12 hours and 30 days
Seven months to one year driver's license suspension
Possible six month to one year installation of an ignition interlock device
Approximately $700 in other fees, charges and costs

Second Offense DWI Penalties
A fine of between $500 and $1,000
Thirty days community service
Two days to three months in jail
Two year driver's license suspension
Either a one to three year installation of ignition interlock device

Third Offense DWI Penalties
A fine of $1,000
At least 180 days imprisonment
Ten year loss of license
Either $1,000 or $1,500 in DMV surcharges per year for three years, depending upon if the prior conviction occurred within the previous three years
Either a one to three year installation of ignition interlock device

Breath Test Refusal Penalties
Refusal to take a Breathalyzer test may also result in court-ordered attendance at the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC), where you must comply with all evaluation, screening and other program requirements and pay a substantial fee.
I make it a point to keep up on developing case law that may affect your defense. To discuss your case in detail, please call my Woodbury, New Jersey, office at 856-432-4113 or contact me now.

Steven J. Richardson
Bankruptcy, Collections, Student Loan, DUI and Traffic Court attorney in Woodbury, NJ.