Go to navigation Go to content
Phone: (856) 686-9910
Richardson Law Offices
Phone:

What can happen to my NJ commercial driver's license (CDL) if I leave the scene of an accident while driving a commercial vehicle?

Because of the nature of the vehicles being operated by a person with a CDL, certain charges are more serious than if they had been received while driving a non-commercial vehicle.  This is true of the consequences for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey. The penalties depend on whether there was property damage or personal injury, and whether it is a first or subsequent offense.

Personal Injury or Death (First Offense)

  • Your CDL must be suspended for one to three years for a first offense, with a mandatory three years if you were transporting hazardous materials at the time or the vehicle was placarded for same.
  • Your basic driving privileges are suspended for one year.
  • A fine of $500 to $1,000
  • Court costs of $33 and a surcharge of $6
  • A jail term of 180 days in addition to, or instead of, the fines.

Personal Injury or Death (Second Offense)

  • Both your CDL and basic license are suspended for life
  • A fine of $1,000 to $2,000
  • Court costs of $33 and a surcharge of $6
  • A jail term of 180 days in addition to, or instead of, the fines.

Property Damage (First Offense)

  • Your CDL must be suspended for one to three years for a first offense, with a mandatory three years if you were transporting hazardous materials at the time or the vehicle was placarded for same.
  • Your basic driving privileges are suspended for six months.
  • Fines of $200 to $400.
  • Court costs of $33 and a surcharge of $6
  • A jail term of 30 days in addition to, or instead of, the fines.

Property Damage (Second Offense)

  • Your CDL must be suspended for one to three years for a first offense, with a mandatory three years if you were transporting hazardous materials at the time or the vehicle was placarded for same.
  • Your basic driving privileges are suspended for one year.
  • Fines of $400 to $600
  • Court costs of $33 and a surcharge of $6
  • A jail term of 30 to 90 days in addition to, or instead of, the fines.

If you have a CDL and are pulled over in southern New Jersey for leaving the scene of an accident where there is personal injury, death, and/or property damage, give my office a call at 856-432-4113 or contact me through this site, for more information and a free consultation.

Related Topics

Steven J. Richardson
Bankruptcy, Collections, Student Loan, DUI and Traffic Court attorney in Woodbury, NJ.